Home

Last night, I was being a typical mule-headed male(actually, I thought I was being pretty reasonable), according to a lovely woman whom I’ve been married to for the last 27 years.

The issue at hand was a not-inconsiderable matter of where our next home would be. We’d gotten a look at a home we both liked last weekend, a rarity as she is a very discerning/demanding – take your pick – client. But just like a man, I couldn’t let well enough alone and instead went in search for a bargain.

home sweet home

And I found it, too! Nice home on a bluff overlooking the hills, 50% more spacious than our current place, and lots of trees and therefore probably much cleaner air in this very congested Seoul. The downside was that it’s a fixer-upper, but I figured even with all the money we’d invest to bring it up to standard we’d still come out way (I mean WAY) ahead financially.

The thing I forgot as I was arguing(pleading, more like) with her was that the purchase of home is an emotional event for most people, and here I was trying to inject ‘sense’ into the matter. I’d already had plenty of experience on this front, as when my two daughters who live and work in Hong Kong opted for a tiny one-bedroom to share for $2,600 in a trendy area versus listening to their wise(too logical, they say) father and going one subway station over for a two-bedroom twice as big because, of course, of the “feel” of the unit.

Getting back to our home, the situation was this. Basically my wife had already paid up the emotional ante on the property and I was the shyster come to cheat her of her “dream home.” Now repeat the last part of that  statement one more time and see if it doesn’t sound particularly villainous and heinous. It does to me even.

She took one look at the picture of ‘my find’ and its crumbly garage surface, and said in her delightfully eloquent and apt English, “Uh uh.” And that was that. I’d been barking up the wrong home, to paraphrase the tired old saying.

I got it. Or I should’ve got it, having seen the exact denouement time and time again as a one-time real estate professional myself.  Anyway, I have now given her carte blanche on the home choice with her agreement on two things that matter most to me – golf and travel(and yes, family matters, too, but come on, don’t do that apples and oranges stuff). Good luck, dear!

Leave a Reply

